The Trickster Prince

Matt Houlbrook: mobile historian; beard growing, head shaving; occasional cycling.

1920s pic of the day: stopping Josephine O’Dare leaving the country (1926)

1920s pic of the day: stopping Josephine O'Dare leaving the country (1926)

A little something to go along with my article on Josephine O’Dare that has just been published in the Journal of Modern History. Click through the photograph to see more.

National Archives: MEPO 3/441: Theresa Agnes Skyrme alias Josephine O’Dare and others: forgery and uttering will of Edwin Docker (1923–28)

11 comments on “1920s pic of the day: stopping Josephine O’Dare leaving the country (1926)

  1. June
    September 1, 2013

    She died from an overdose in 1951 – a martyr to the the cocaine trip

  2. The Trickster Prince
    September 1, 2013

    I knew she died in 1951, but the newspaper reports I’ve read suggest it was an overdose of some kind of sleeping tablet. I’d be interested to know where you’d heard about it being cocaine!

    • June
      September 1, 2013

      I have lots of Newspapers from my research. She was involved with members of my family (criminal fraternity I guess) In one of the papers it states she was a SNIFFING cocaine. She was involved with a man who was her mentor really.

      • The Trickster Prince
        September 1, 2013

        Oh fantastic: that’s really interesting. Is this between the wars or later?

    • The Trickster Prince
      September 1, 2013

      You are correct, it’s a long time since I lookedat my research info. Yes, I have her death certificate – so I stand corrected. Kind regards June

  3. The Trickster Prince
    September 2, 2013

    That’s really exciting! Who were your family members who Josephine was associated with (if you don’t mind me asking…). I’ve written something about her for a history journal and she will appear again in the book that I’m finishing at the moment. She’s such an interesting character.

  4. Catherine
    December 31, 2013

    I am keen to learn more about the 1926-27 trial of Josephine O’Dare, as it also involved a “Dolita Morton”, who I know a great deal about. Dolita Morton was not her real name, and she had very famous links, so it was perhaps a good thing her real name was not used during the trial. Would like to hear from you about this, if possible.

    • The Trickster Prince
      December 31, 2013

      Hello Catherine. Thank you for your comment. It would be great to talk more about the case and I would be fascinated to hear more about Dolita Morton. You can email me on my University of Birmingham address if you like.

      • J N
        April 10, 2016

        Theresa Sniffed Cocaine. The Newspapers said “She sniffed it with characteristic
        thouroughness” Dolita was married to Adrian Morton – supposedly a solicitor’
        you need to go to the Newspaper Library at Colindale in London’which is where I went, and managed to find all the relevant papers 1927. Remember, these people were mostly criminals that she moved around with in her secret life.

      • The Trickster Prince
        April 11, 2016

        Colindale closed two years ago – and I read all those newspapers from 1927 and 1926 and 1933 and 1951 even longer ago now. That’s what I used in the two articles and parts of the book I’ve written about O’Dare and her circle.

  5. J N
    April 10, 2016

    You need to find out more of William George Davis. Again, a visit to the Newspaper Library helped me. J.N

Leave a Reply

Information

This entry was posted on July 1, 2013 by in Uncategorized and tagged .
