The Trickster Prince

Matt Houlbrook: mobile historian; beard growing, head shaving; occasional cycling.

Holyhead to Hereford: a cycle touring journey

I’ve just got back to Oxford after spending a few days riding my bike from one end of Wales (almost) to the other. After a long year and a difficult few months I needed to get away so it was time to hit the open road. After a long train ride to Holyhead I slowly made my way south and east. For the most part I followed the Sustrans Lon Las Cymru route before swinging north to Hereford to meet up with my parents for a couple of days. Apart from a few torrential rain storms I got lucky with the weather and saw all the best that the Welsh mountains have to offer. It was far tougher than I was expecting; it was more remote than I was expecting–there were long stretches when it felt like I had the hills to myself; it was just as stunning as I was expecting though.

The headline facts and figures: 4 days / 251.93 miles / 20543 ft of climbing

The route (click through for the GPS tracks):

Day 1: Holyhead to Cricieth

Day 2: Cricieth to Machynlleth

Day 3: Machynlleth to Builth Wells

Day 4: Builth Wells to Torrington

I didn’t take many photographs: when you’re riding on your own there isn’t really a whole lot to photograph. I also prefer just to ride through the big hills rather than squeeze them into the lense of an iPhone. Here are a few though:

Image

My bike: loaded and ready to go

Image

My book: just in case in needed any more gruff masculine interiority en route.

Image

A bleak beginning at Holyhead station and port.

Image

Crossing the Menai Bridge and leaving Anglesey behind.

Image

Obligatory nice cycle path photo

Image

Traveling night with the Terra Nova Laser Comp

Image

Barmouth

Image

Barmouth and a bridge: what was it that Ruskin said?

Image

Looking towards Cadair Idris

Image

Big views from above Pennant and Staylittle

Image

The open road calls and the clouds threaten

Image

A beautiful bridge in Builth Wells

Image

Bike homeward bound and waiting for a train

One comment on “Holyhead to Hereford: a cycle touring journey

  1. Pingback: Looking back on 2013 | The Trickster Prince

Leave a Reply

Information

This entry was posted on August 1, 2013 by in Uncategorized and tagged , .
